Setting Preferences

Settings

Preferences

To start setting your preferences open the Preferences dialog by selecting the Tools > Preferences in the main menu Ubiqua. You will find below the description for each section.

General

Preferences

Auto Save

This feature automatically creates segmented files of live captures. The user can set the option to save capture files every certain number of packets or determine a time interval to perform this task. This feature is helpful for cases where there will be long periods of capture time. When enabled, Ubiqua may generate multiple files in the indicated path, each file will contain a segment of the full trace. To enable this feature open the Tools > Preferences menu, go to the General tab and find the Auto Save section.

Auto Save

In the Auto Save section below the Location field you can find the Clear capture after use auto-save and Enable auto-restart on unexpected shutdown options. When the former is checked, every time the Auto Save task is performed, the Traffic View will be automatically cleared, deleting all the capture packets that were saved, and displaying only those packets that will be part for the next Auto Save segment. If the Enable auto-restart on unexpected shutdown option is selected, then Ubiqua will send the crash report automatically before closing unexpectedly and restart after that. Ubiqua won’t show the recovery window during the restart process and it will start the sniffers that were capturing packets before closing, which makes this option a good choice for those who are running automated tests. The recovered files are available throughout the main menu inside the application.

Auto Save

Dialogs

Ubiqua implements dialogs to remember the user’s choices within the system. These dialogs have a remember my choice option to save the user preference and to suppress the same dialog in the future. The stored choices for the dialogs can be reset using the Reset all dialog warnings and stored choices checkbox in the General tab.

Dialog

Saved dialog choices:

  • Select Protocol dialog: appears when a capture file that does not contain protocol information is opened. The user can choose one of the supported protocols to decode it and by checking the remember my choice setting the selected protocol will be the default to open the following captures.
  • A dialog opens if the Frame Checksum validation fails, and the user can choose between appending 2 more bytes with the correct checksum, replacing the last 2 bytes with the correct checksum, or do nothing; the remember my choice will suppress the dialog when opening following captures.
  • Immediate Filter Application dialog: opens each time a new filter is created.

Remote Access

This option toggles on or off the Ubiqua Services, which are web resources that expose certain Ubiqua functions for remote use. See here for more info.

Remote Access

User Options

In this section you can set up the following settings.

Default Protocols

Here you can set the default protocol stack, that you prefer to use for captures without the protocol information.

Default Protocols

FCS Correction

With the Frame Checksum validation checkbox you can decide what Ubiqua should do when it finds packets with incorrect FCS.

FCS Correction

Custom Payloads

Then you have the options to enable custom payloads as described in section Custom Payloads

Custom Payloads

UI Options

Select the icon size you prefer for the UI toolbars icons.

Toolbars Icons

IEEE OUI Vendors

IEEE OUI Vendors

Files Associations

You can set up Ubiqua as the default application to open capture files when you double click on them in your system. To do so, open the Preferences window, select the Files tab, and you will see a list of the supported capture files and extensions. Click the checkboxes on the Active column to associate Ubiqua to that file format. Use the checkbox at the bottom to make Ubiqua check if the associations are correctly set on your system each time it starts.

File Associations

Security Keychain

Security keys for decoding purposes are managed on the Security > Keychain tab of the Preferences dialog. In this tab, you are presented with a list of all the security keys available in Ubiqua. These keys can be discovered in the capture data or added manually by the user. Use the buttons on the right to add, edit, delete, or import keys.

Security Keychain

Traffic

Select the columns you want to be displayed in the Traffic View, change their width(measured in pixels, the minimum value is 30) and decide if the Timestamp should include the date.

Traffic

Explorer

Select how you want to group nodes in the network explorer, and which properties of the nodes will be visible there.

Explorer

Protocols

Select the protocols that will be visible in the list for the Change Protocol Stack and the Select Protocol dialog that opens when there is no protocol information in the capture.

If you scroll down below in this section you can also set the CoAP Custom Port to allow Ubiqua to listen on a designated UDP port and decode incoming traffic as CoAP.

Protocols

Network

This tab contains the information about the network and its nodes (devices).

Devices

The list of devices that have been in the network is displayed in this section located in the Tools > Preferences > Network > Devices tab. Each element of the list is composed by the long address followed by the alias assigned by the user (if the user customized the device). The devices can be discovered or manually added, to edit a devices’s properties just right click on it in the list. The Customize window can also be accessed by right clicking on the node in the Graphic View or with the Customize button in the Properties View.

Devices in Network

Networks

When you need to have an organized list of your networks you can customize their alias, this will make them appear listed in the Tools > Preferences > Network > Networks tab. Each item on the list will be composed of the extended PAN ID id followed by the custom alias you assigned, networks without a customized alias will not appear in the list.

To customize a network alias follow the next steps:

  1. Group the devices by PAN in the Network Explorer view.
  2. Within the Network Explorer tree visualization select the PAN node that has the PAN ID and Extended PAN ID attributes of the network.
  3. Go to the Properties View where the information of the network will be automatically loaded.
  4. At the bottom of the Properties view Uncheck the Use default alias box to make the Alias input editable.
  5. Type your network alias, click outside the text input. The PAN node in the Network Explorer view will be automatically updated, replacing the default PAN ID alias with the new one. The customized element will be added to the mentioned list of networks within the Tools > Preferences > Network > Networks tab.

Check for Updates

The Check for Updates option is in the menu Help > Check for Updates. Use this option to find if a new version of Ubiqua is available.

Check for Updates

Environment Files

Environment files include all the current selections and values of the Preferences dialog including address relationships, security keys, and others. These files do not store any license information.

To save an environment file click the File > Save Environment menu item, after this a dialog window will open displaying the Save Environment Options window for you to select those preferences you want to save in your environment file, click Continue and select the location where you want to store the new environment file, and name it.

Save Environment File

To load an environment file click the File > Open Environment menu item, browse your environment file on your computer and click the Open button.

Capture Files Recovery

Ubiqua will help you to recover the last capture if an error occurred and the application closed unexpectedly. When Ubiqua is started, it checks for backup files, then presents a Capture Files Recovery dialog, in this dialog you can select from a list of recoverable files, double click a file or select the file and click on the Open file button (the middle button of the Actions), and all the packets will be automatically loaded into your Traffic View. You can also open this window from menu Tools > Recovered Captures.

Note that the recovered capture file is removed from the Capture Files Recovery dialog when it’s opened in the Traffic View. If the opening process is cancelled, then the packets that were already loaded will be shown in the Traffic View, in this case the recovered capture file isn’t removed from the Capture Files Recovery dialog.

Capture Recovery